2020 Scholarship Recipient

Announcing the 2020 Scholarship Recipient of the William J. Firth III, M.D. Rural Medicine Scholarship

William J. Firth III, M.D. was committed to providing his patients with the best care possible. To honor his long history of serving this rural community, the family and friends of Dr. Firth joined the Wickenburg Community Hospital Foundation to sponsor a scholarship fund. This scholarship is awarded on an annual basis to a Wickenburg High School Graduating Senior who is enrolled at a college, university, vocational or trade school in a health-related degree or certificate program — with the intention to return to rural medicine practice.

Alexa Murillo

This year the scholarship is being presented to Alexa Murillo, resident of Aguila, AZ.

“What struck me about Alexa’s application was that she was an all-around student with varied interests and talents, varying from photography to writing, to the medical field,” states Anne Firth, surviving spouse of William J. Firth III, M.D.

“Her success in both academics and sports shows she can and will succeed in whatever she chooses to do. She is creative, persistent, and dedicated. Her volunteer work shows the love and appreciation she has for her community and her family. She is an excellent applicant, and we are proud to award her the 2020 William J Firth Rural Medicine Scholarship.”

After receiving notice of being awarded this scholarship, Murillo expressed her gratitude for help getting one step closer to reaching her educational and career goals.

“I am so grateful to receive this scholarship! Thank you for your generosity, which will be helping me take the burden of paying for school off me and my family’s shoulders in order to allow me to pursue my target of becoming a nurse!” Murillo states.

“I definitely feel the support from the Wickenburg Community Hospital which is something I will always remember! You are allowing me to focus on the most important aspect of growth, learning! Your selfless helping hand has motivated me to strive for nothing but excellence in my future. Thank you.”

Photo: Jim Tavary, President & CEO of Wickenburg Community Hospital, Alexa Murillo, 2020 Scholarship Recipient.

Originally published in July 2020 at wickhosp.com